2015 Innovation Celebration Winners Announced

For Immediate Release

Carly McCrory, Communications Director
Champaign County Economic Development Corporation
(217) 359-6261

2015 Innovation Celebration Winners Announced

CHAMPAIGN, IL, March 5, 2015 – Over 400 people gathered at Krannert Center for the Performing Arts for the 10th Annual Innovation Celebration on the evening on March 3rd to recognize those individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions, taken risks, and provided leadership to ensure the continuing economic success of Champaign County, the ongoing success of the University’s economic development mission, and the growth of entrepreneurial talent and energy in the community.

Innovation Celebration is not merely an award for accomplishment, but a benchmark of success for those outstanding individuals, organizations and corporations who are nominated and selected to receive this prestigious award. Additionally, Innovation Celebration serves as a tangible collaboration between the University of Illinois, Parkland College and the community.

The winners were chosen out of more than 100 nominations.

Award Winners:

Innovation Transfer Award – University of Illinois
Dr. Kenneth Suslick

Innovation in Engagement Award – Parkland College
Applied Media Promotions (AMP)

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Social Venture Award
Scientific Animations Without Borders (SAWBO)

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Student Startup Award
Rithmio, Inc.

Entrepreneurial Excellence: New Venture Award
Agrible, Inc. (Ag Informatics)

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Advocacy Award
Alex Ruggieri

Innovation: Economic Development Impact Award
BRG Sports, Inc.

Entrepreneurial Excellence: Management Award
Cathy Singer – Yahoo!, Inc.

Innovation: Longevity Award
Horizon Hobby

The EDC is pleased to work with the following sponsors of Innovation Celebration 2015: the University of Illinois’ Technology Entrepreneur Center, Research Park, Office of Corporate Relations, and Office of Technology Management, along with Krannert Center for the Performing Arts, Parkland College, Singleton Law Firm, Serra Ventures, Ramshaw Real Estate, Pixo, Pavlov Media, Meyer Capel, Martin Hood Friese & Associates, IllinoisVENTURES, Fox Development Corporation, U of I Employees Credit Union, Surface 51, Prominic.NET, Akuna Capital, JSM Development, M2 on Neil, Waterborne Environmental, Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District, and McDonnell Boehnen Hulbert & Berghoff.

A special thanks to 40 North for producing the videos.

Link to press release: http://www.champaigncountyedc.org/2015-innovation-celebration-winners-an...
Link to videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL7_k65C0648pYZ1W1N64zeIXYvIeOsL0j